The power of dissenting for the future

A year ago, my husband and I had the opportunity to take my kids to Columbia University and give them a personal tour around the Jerome L. Greene Hall, Columbia Law School’s building.

I remember stopping at a frame of Ruth Bader Ginsburg and sharing with them who she was and some of her life achievements. They could tell how proud we felt of having graduated from her same school, especially due to her known efforts on gender equality.

I have look back many times to that moment, since I learned of RBG’s passing away last week, and have shared with my kids more facts about her important legacy, which goes well beyond the legal practice. This has included some of the powerful and inspiring quotes that #NotoriousRBG left throughout her life.

Today I am sharing one of my favorite quotes:

“Dissents speak to a future age. It’s not simply to say, ‘My colleagues are wrong and I would do it this way.’ But the greatest dissents do become court opinions and gradually over time their views become the dominant view. So that’s the dissenter’s hope: that they are writing not for today, but for tomorrow.”

Although it has a judicial connotation, I believe it has greater applicability for life. It is a reminder of the importance to speak up and let your voice be heard, even (and specially) if what you have to say is different from the majority’s opinion.

It is easier to ‘go with the flow’ but so much more meaningful and courageous to share your views! If you think for a second that your opinion is worthless, remember her words and act for the future!

Leave a comment